Online Driving Class to Better Help You

Woman with a headset

8 Hour Online Course

Court, DMV, Insurance

State of Virginia Online Class

100% Online Driving Improvement Course


per registration

Satisfy Virginia Court Requirements

Satisfy DMV Notice


Lower Insurance Rates

100% Online Course

Certificate Emailed to Student -

Received 1 Business Day

Premium Rush Services Add-On

100% Online Driving Improvement Course


per Rush Certificate

Same Day Certificate

Receive 1 Hour After Completion

Add on Premium Services

Original Secure Certificate Emailed

Drunk Driving Virginia Laws

Understanding Virginia DWI Laws

The state of Virginia takes driving while intoxicated (DWI) very seriously. It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and a DWI conviction can result in serious penalties. In this blog post, we will discuss the DWI laws of Virginia, the consequences of a DWI conviction, and how to get help if you have been charged with a DWI.

What is the Penalty for a DWI in Virginia?

The penalties for a DWI conviction in Virginia vary depending on the circumstances of the offense. Generally, DWI charges are classified as either a Class 1 misdemeanor or a Class 4 felony. A Class 1 misdemeanor can carry a jail term of up to 12 months and a fine of up to $2,500. A Class 4 felony carries a jail term of up to 10 years and a fine of up to $2,500.

In addition to criminal penalties, those convicted of a DWI may also face other consequences, such as driver's license suspension or revocation, community service, and the installation of an ignition interlock device in their vehicle.

How Can I Avoid a DWI Conviction?

The best way to avoid a DWI conviction is to not drink and drive. It is never a good idea to get behind the wheel of a vehicle after drinking alcohol. If you are going out, make sure to arrange for a designated driver or take a cab or ride-share service home.

However, if you find yourself in a situation where you have been charged with a DWI, there are steps you can take to avoid a conviction. One option is to enroll in a Virginia Commonwealth Driving Improvement Clinic's Online 8 Hour Class. This class is designed to help drivers understand the dangers of driving while impaired and to provide guidance on avoiding DWI convictions.

Where Can I Get Help for a DWI Conviction in Virginia?

If you have been charged with a DWI, you should contact an experienced DWI defense attorney as soon as possible. An experienced attorney can help you understand your legal rights and options and provide guidance on how to best defend yourself against the charges.

Additionally, there are many resources available to those convicted of a DWI in Virginia. For example, the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offers an Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) that provides educational classes and treatment programs for those convicted of DWIs. The DMV also offers a Driver Improvement Program for those convicted of DWIs, which provides an alternative to suspension or revocation of a driver’s license.


Driving while intoxicated is a serious offense in Virginia and can result in steep penalties, including jail time, fines, and license suspension or revocation. The best way to avoid a DWI conviction is to never drink and drive. If you are charged with a DWI, contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible and take advantage of the resources available to help you avoid a conviction.