Online Driving Class to Better Help You

Woman with a headset

8 Hour Online Course

Court, DMV, Insurance

State of Virginia Online Class

100% Online Driving Improvement Course

$75

per registration

Satisfy Virginia Court Requirements

Satisfy DMV Notice

Voluntary

Lower Insurance Rates

100% Online Course

Certificate Emailed to Student -

Received 1 Business Day

Premium Rush Services Add-On

100% Online Driving Improvement Course

$15

per Rush Certificate

Same Day Certificate

Receive 1 Hour After Completion

Add on Premium Services

Original Secure Certificate Emailed




State of Virginia Online Class

100% Online Driving Improvement Course

$75

per registration

Satisfy Virginia Court Requirements

Satisfy DMV Notice

Voluntary

Lower Insurance Rates

100% Online Course

Certificate Emailed to Student -

Received 1 Business Day

Premium Rush Services Add-On

100% Online Driving Improvement Course

$15

per Rush Certificate

Same Day Certificate

Receive 1 Hour After Completion

Add on Premium Services

Original Secure Certificate Emailed




Understanding Virginia Speeding Violations and How to Avoid Them

DUI: A Misdemeanor in Virginia

When someone is charged with a DUI in Virginia, it is classified as a misdemeanor. This means that it is a criminal offense, punishable by a fine, a jail sentence, or both. Depending on the circumstances, the severity of the punishment may be more or less severe. This article will provide an overview of DUI laws in Virginia and the various penalties associated with a conviction.

Understanding Virginia DUI Laws

In Virginia, a DUI is defined as operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. The law states that the driver must have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher, or have drugs in their system that impair their ability to safely operate a motor vehicle.

The legal consequences of a DUI can vary greatly depending on the circumstances. For example, if someone has a BAC of 0.20 percent or higher, they will face more serious consequences than someone with a BAC of 0.08 percent. Additionally, if the driver caused an accident that resulted in injury or death due to their intoxication, the punishments are more severe than if the driver was simply pulled over and found to be intoxicated.

Consequences of a DUI in Virginia

If an individual is convicted of a DUI in Virginia, they may face the following penalties:

● Fines: Depending on the circumstances, a driver may be required to pay fines ranging from $500 to $2,500.

● Jail Time: Jail time is a possibility for those convicted of a DUI. The amount of time served may range from five days to six months.

● Ignition Interlock Devices: Virginia law requires that all drivers convicted of a DUI install an ignition interlock device (IID) in their vehicle. An IID prevents the vehicle from being started if the driver has been drinking alcohol.

● License Suspension: If convicted of a DUI, the driver's license will be suspended for a minimum of one year.

● Virginia Commonwealth Driving Improvement Clinics Online 8 Hour Class: All drivers convicted of a DUI in Virginia must take an online 8-hour class through the Virginia Commonwealth Driving Improvement Clinic.

● Community Service: Drivers convicted of a DUI may also be required to complete community service hours.

Conclusion

DUI is considered a misdemeanor offense in Virginia. The consequences of a conviction can be severe and include fines, jail time, license suspension, and community service. Additionally, a driver convicted of a DUI must install an IID in their vehicle and take an online 8-hour class through the Virginia Commonwealth Driving Improvement Clinic. It is important for drivers to understand the laws and consequences of a DUI so they can make informed decisions about their own driving.